Development Permits

The Official Community Plan (OCP) identifies twelve Development Permit Areas within Esquimalt.

Properties within these Development Permit Areas require a Development Permit to be issued by Council, for any new development or redevelopment.

Development Permits:

  • Provide guidelines for the exterior form and character of developments, including landscaping (DPAs 3, 4, 5, 6)
  • Protect the natural environment (DPA 1)
  • Protect development from hazardous conditions (DPA 2)
  • Establish objectives for energy conservation and greenhouse gas reduction (DPA 7)
  • Establish objectives for water conservation (DPA 8)
  • Provide guidelines for specific locations in Esquimalt (DPAs 9, 10, 11,12). Once approved, Development Permits are binding for current and future owners of the property.


Download a Development Permit Application.

Download a Green Building Checklist.

Download the Development Application Procedures and Fees Bylaw (No.2791).

Learn more about Energy-Efficient New Homes.

Find Development Services contacts.