Application & Business Classifications

Apply for a business licence using MyEsquimalt or by completing the Business Licence Application fillable form. 

Apply through MyEsquimalt

The platform allows users to apply for, review, renew and pay by credit card for their township business licence all online. Sign up for eBilling to receive your renewal invoice by email and pay for your yearly renewal with a credit card as well.  This service is available 24 hours a day.

Apply online for a business licence under the appropriate business classifications listed below. You will need to register for a MyEsquimalt account and complete payment with a credit card upon finalizing the application process. 

Business classifications

Apply with a fillable form

  • See the Business Licence Application  (downloadable copy)
  • Please save the document to your device, complete the application in full, resave the document and then email the completed application to [email protected].  
  • We do not process applications (emailed or in person) until payment is received. 
  • You may pay in person with cash, cheque or debit; use the exterior drop box or mail in a cheque. 
  • Business licence fees are due upon submission of an application form. Refer to the Schedule 'A' attached to the application form for classifications of businesses and fees. 

Please see the Business Licence Regulation Bylaw for additional information pertaining to business classifications and business licencing in Esquimalt.

Intermunicipal and Intercommunity Business Licences:

The Intermunicipal and Intercommunity licenses allow a business to conduct their business, services, or mobile business within a group of participating municipalities by taking out one license (versus multiple non-resident licenses). Click on the links to see the associated bylaws and information pertaining to these licenses.

Intermunicipal Business Licence (Greater Victoria)

The Intermunicipal licence allows you to conduct your business within any of the 13 Greater Victoria municipalities: 
City of Colwood
City of Langford
City of Victoria
District of Central Saanich
District of the Highlands
District of Metchosin
District of North Saanich
District of Oak Bay
District of North Saanich
District of Saanich
District of Sooke
Town of View Royal
Township of Esquimalt

Intercommunity Business Licence (ICBL) - Vancouver Island

The ICBL was launched in January 2020 and gives business owners the option to take out one licence to work in participating Vancouver Island communities. As of July 2021 there are 14 participating municipalities:

City of Colwood
City of Duncan
City of Nanaimo
City of Parksville
City of Victoria
District of Sooke
District of Central Saanich
District of North Saanich
Municipality of North Cowichan
Town of Ladysmith
Town of Lake Cowichan
Town of Sidney
Town of View Royal 
Township of Esquimalt

The latest list of participating ICBL partners is listed at: Please note, not all Vancouver Island communities have joined the ICBL, so an intermunicipal licence may still the best option to allow you to work within all the Greater Victoria communities.

If you have questions about the ICBL program please contact the business licencing department at 250-414-7136 or [email protected].

Business licence renewal notices are sent out at the end of each year to all businesses that were licensed in the preceding year.  You will receive your renewal notice by email (must be signed up for eBilling) or via Canada Post.  Payment is due by January 31 each year. Please notify the municipal hall at 250-414-7136 if you are no longer operating a business in Esquimalt.