Township Councillor Appointed to National Body

August 22, 2012

Esquimalt Councillor Dave Hodgins has been appointed to two Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) Standing Committees. Hodgins’ appointments to the Community Safety and Crime Prevention Standing Committee and the Social-Economic Development Standing Committee were endorsed by Council at a Committee of the Whole Meeting on August 20th, 2012.

“We are pleased to endorse Councillor Hodgins’ appointments,” said Esquimalt Mayor Barbara Desjardins. “It is important for the Township to be an active participant at the national level on community safety and socio-economic development. With his background in municipal and provincial government Councillor Hodgins is very qualified to represent our community on this stage.” 

In addition to these two high-profile committees, Councillor Hodgins will also sit as a member of the FCM Rural Forum.

The Federation of Canadian Municipalities has been the national voice of municipal government since 1901. FCM represents the interests of Canada’s municipalities on policy and program matters that fall within federal jurisdiction. With a membership of over 2,000 governing bodies, members include Canada's largest cities, small urban and rural communities, and 21 provincial and territorial municipal associations.

For more information, please contact:

Barbara Desjardins, Mayor, Township of Esquimalt

Tel: 250-414-7101