Official Election Results

November 18, 2008

The Township of Esquimalt announced its official 2008 General Local Election results at 4 p.m. on Tuesday, November 18, 2008. Esquimalt had a total of 3,437 voters turn out during its two advance voting days and on general voting day, November 15, 2008. The elected candidates were declared, starting in order of those who received the highest number of votes for office:

Barb Desjardins
Don Linge
Alison Gaul
Lynda Hundleby
Bruce McIldoon
Meagan Brame
Randall Garrison

The newly elected Esquimalt Council will serve a three-year term beginning December 8, 2008. The Mayor elect is former Councillor, Barb Desjardins. Returning Councillors are Don Linge, Lynda Hundleby, and former Councillor Bruce McIldoon who served on Council from 2002 – 2005. The three new members of Council are Alison Gaul, Meagan Brame, and Randall Garrison.

The new Council will be sworn in during the Inaugural Meeting of Council on December 8, 2008 at 7 p.m. The meeting will include the new Mayor and Councillors’ Oath of Office, the Mayor’s Inaugural Address, the Mayor’s appointments of Councillors to various boards and committees, and the recognition of past council. The public is invited to attend and refreshments will be served.

The first Regular Meeting of Council will be Monday, December 15, 2008 at 7 p.m. Meetings will be held in Council Chambers at the Township of Esquimalt Municipal Hall, located at 1229 Esquimalt Road. The latest Council and Committee of the Whole meeting agendas and minutes are available on the Township’s newly designed municipal website at

For more information contact:
Marlene Lagoa, Assistant to the Corporate Administrator
Township of Esquimalt
Phone: 250-414-7122