Apply for a regular or intermunicipal business licence by completing a Business Licence Application.  The application is a fillable form.  Please save the document to your device, complete the application in full, resave the document and then email the completed application to [email protected].  The application fee is payable at the time of application.  Please contact [email protected] or 250-414-7136 to arrange payment.

Business licence fees are due upon submission of an application form. See the Schedule 'A' attached to the application form for classifications of businesses and fees. 

Business licence renewal notices are mailed at the end of each year to all businesses that were licensed in the preceding year and payment is due by January 31st each yearPlease notify the Municipal Hall at 250-414-7136 if you are no longer operating a business in Esquimalt.

Business Classifications:

Vancouver Island Intercommunity Business Licence (ICBL) 

The ICBL gives business owners the option to take out one licence to work in participating Island communities. As of December 2019 there are 12 participating municipalities: Esquimalt, Sooke, Lake Cowichan, Nanaimo, Parksville, Duncan, North Cowichan, Ladysmith, Central Saanich, North Saanich, Victoria, and Sidney with more municipalities anticipated to join the ICBL program in 2019/20. A business owner has the option to purchase the ICBL if they will be performing their services in any or all participating municipalities.

The ICBL eliminates the need to take out multiple non-resident licences with other participating municipalities. Please note, not all Greater Victoria communities have joined the ICBL, so an intermunicipal licence may still the best option to allow you to work within all the Greater Victoria communities. If you have questions about the ICBL program please contact the business licencing department at 250-414-7136 or [email protected].